12 days of Christmas Blogging: Day 2

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

…  2 movie tickets to The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug on opening night.

I was so excited to see it! My husband was too. Maybe not as much as I was though. Ha!

wpid-IMG_20131216_091844.jpg

I vividly remember reading ALL of the books in the Lord of the Rings series, as well as the Hobbit, when I was younger. My father had these really nice paperback books of the series and I would read them over and over. It was my first taste of fantasy fiction.

As far the movie adaptations, usually I don’t like them. They usually diverge too FAR away from the book for my taste. With these, I did enjoy the movie adaptations and didn’t care so much about the changes.

The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug does not disappoint either. You won’t even realize that almost 3 hours have disappeared by the time it’s over. There’s just something about watching a movie on a giant screen with the surround sound cranked up. Maybe I like sharing in the same experiences with strangers without saying a word to each other too. The laughs, the ooohhs and aaahhs. It’s fun for me.

Because of my migraines, I cannot watch movies in 3D. They give me a huge migraine. The last time I went to a 3D movie was when Avatar came out in 2009. I prefer the regular experience where nothing is on my face for 3 hours.

Either way, the movie was fantastic. I can’t wait for the third part to come out.

So, tell me, are you going to see it? Have you read the book? I highly recommend doing both.

Thanks for stopping by! See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

