30 days of NaBloPoMo: Day 19

1425708_549140825168189_2083994252_n

Have you ever started your day off great and then something happens that just ruins your nice day?

This is what it’s called… mood poisoning. What is mood poisoning?

Anything that changes your mood from good to bad.

What would’ve caused me to become such a sour puss? Hmm…

I hate walking into a room searching for something that I’ve forgotten in the 10 seconds it took me to walk there.

I hate that I have chronic pain every day.

I hate that I feel like I’m missing out on Life when I’m sick.

I hate feeling like I actually hate someone or something. (It’s lousy practice as a human being!)

I tend to place the blame on anything but me, when in reality, I’m the only one who can control the bad or negative emotions!

What causes you to change on a dime? Do you realize that you’re doing it or do you blame someone/something else for YOUR reaction to a problem?

Take charge and recognize yourself. Recognize your own reactions to things that upset you.

That’s giving yourself half the power back. You are giving yourself half control over your negative emotion.

The other half is changing your reaction to what upset you.

Actually calming yourself down and changing from upset to collected.

You can still be disturbed by what upset you, but you can also calm the anger. The dismay. The hurt.

Use that negative energy for something positive. Like taking deep breaths. Or going for a walk.

What do you do to calm yourself after you’ve had a case of “mood poisoning”?

 

2 thoughts on “30 days of NaBloPoMo: Day 19

  1. I learned a long time ago from experience and a life altering sickness that sometimes you just have to let it go. I know that sounds careless, but I realized there are things I can hang on to like fun and laughter and things I can let go of like angry strangers or eye rolling teenagers. A massage therapist did help me with one thing. If I know I’m going into a tough situation I just picture my guardian angel around me. His wings enfold me and they are of the brightest white light. Nothing, absolutely nothing can get past that white light. I surround myself in the white light of my angel’s wings and nothing an ex-husband says or an aggressive family member says or a frienemy does can hurt me. It just reflects off the light and I never feel it. I know it sounds all new-age hippy, but I tried it and it worked. I’ve used that for years!

    1. I totally agree and thank you for taking the time to share! I like the idea of a cocoon of white light surrounding me… protecting me from the bad stuff by reflecting it. I think it makes perfect sense. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

